Divorce in New Hampshire

Laws Relative to Divorce in New Hampshire

Residency Requirements for Filing for Divorce in New Hampshire

To file for a New Hampshire divorce, one of the requirements must be met:

  • Both spouses must be residents of the state when the divorce is filed for,
  • the spouse filing for divorce must have been a resident of New Hampshire for 1 year immediately prior to filing for divorce and the other spouse was personally served with process within the state; or
  • the cause of divorce must have arisen in New Hampshire and one of the spouses must be living in New Hampshire when the divorce is filed for.

Read more

Family Law 101

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS AND WHERE TO FILE: If the grounds for divorce occurred in Massachusetts, 1 spouse must be a resident. If the grounds occurred outside of the state, the spouse filing must have been a resident for 1 year. The divorce should be filed for in the county in which the spouses last lived together. If neither spouse currently lives in that county, then the divorce may be filed for in a county where either spouse currently resides. [Massachusetts General Laws Annotated; Chapter 208, Sections 4, 5, and 6]. Read more